Croydon Conservatives - Article From our Database
10 May 2019
Shadow Cabinet 2019 announced

Croydon Conservatives are delighted to announce their frontbench team for 2019-20.

Conservative Leader - Tim Pollard

Deputy Leader & Shadow Cabinet Member: Economy, Jobs and Planning - Jason Perry

Deputy Leader & Shadow Cabinet Member: Finance and Resources - Jason Cummings

Shadow Cabinet Member: Communities, Safety and Justice – Mario Creatura

Shadow Cabinet Member: Clean Green Croydon - Vidhi Mohan

Shadow Cabinet Member: Transport, Environment and Air Quality - Simon Hoar

Shadow Cabinet Member: Children, Young People and Learning - Maria Gatland

Shadow Cabinet Member: Homes and Gateway Services - Lynne Hale

Shadow Cabinet Member: Families, Health and Social Care  - Yvette Hopley

Shadow Cabinet Member: Culture, Leisure and Sport - Helen Pollard

Chief Whip – Helen Redfern

Scrutiny Vice-Chair - Robert Ward

General Purpose and Audit Committee lead: Jan Buttinger

Licensing lead: Michael Neal

Cllr Tim Pollard, Leader of Croydon’s Conservative Councillors, commenting on Cllr O’Connell stepping down from the frontbench: “Steve has been a formidable lead spokesman in the vital area of community, safety and justice. His knowledge is second to none and he is well-known as a champion for Croydon’s incredible diverse community - his work with the police, public sector and voluntary groups will not be forgotten.

“I know Steve will continue his tireless work as Croydon and Sutton’s London Assembly member, as well as serving his Kenley residents on Croydon Council.”

Commenting on the other front bench changes, Cllr Pollard said “Cllr Mario Creatura has been a tremendous group whip for our group for the last three years. His promotion into the shadow cabinet as the portfolio lead for safety and justice is well deserved and gels well with his recent adoption as the Conservatives’ parliamentary candidate for Croydon Central.

“Into his shoes steps Cllr Helen Redfern, from Purley Oaks & Riddlesdown ward, who has been deputy whip for the last year. Although only elected in 2018, Helen has impressed everyone by the speed at which she has built a reputation as a very strong councillor and I know she will make an outstanding chief whip going forward.”